Recruitment Consultant that wants to move into Project Management

This forum is for members to share and gain knowledge of Project Management. Got a question about project management? Need help with a problem? Wish to offer tips and advice? Post here.
RecConGJ

Hey guys,

I'm a team leader in a construction recruitment company and I have 10 years experience in running a recruitment desk that involved building from a completely cold start that my company didn't trade in, which involved building and developing relationships from scratch, managing an ever evolving workload, managing a team and consultants as well as driving my own business forward at the same time.

I am a natural leader, being the captain of my rugby team as well as implementing new strategies within my company for different recruitment initiatives and managing these through to a conclusion.

I manage the whole recruitment lifecycle from winning the business and getting a vacancy on with the client to the resourcing of candidates and onto the full 2 or 3 stage interview process and then tying up the financial side of the deal.

I am also very commercially aware having joined a start-up company three years ago and helped implement the payroll systems and dealt with profit and loss and targeted company growth etc.

My current situation is that I am no longer solely driven by money as I was in my younger years and have become disillusioned with recruitment and want to get into a role I can drive projects forward, feel like I have accomplished something and help develop other skills as well as people below myself.

What would be my next steps into moving into Project Management, are my skills transferable, would a prospective employer look at someone like myself?

Qualification wise I left college after my A Levels and went straight into sales and have worked for 3 companies in 10 years with the last 8 of these coming under the same director (he left my 2nd company and took me to set up his own business)