Technical Skill vs. Managerial Skills in Managing Projects

This forum is for members to share and gain knowledge of Project Management. Got a question about project management? Need help with a problem? Wish to offer tips and advice? Post here.
Comfort Enahoro

I am a postgraduate student researching into the essential skills that a Project Manager require to successfully manage a project. My area of focus is on the debate between the Technical skills and Managerial skills and the relevance of the project manager's skill-set to the project outcome. Does a project manager need technical skills to successfully manage a project, for instance, a construction project, IT project, finance project, military project, medical project, etc; or are managerial skills such as Planning, Organizing, Staffing, Directing and Controlling, sufficient to do the job successfully?

For example, if someone is a project manager of an IT project, does he/she need to have IT qualifications/skills and experience among other things to successfully manage the project? Or can any experienced project manager from any other discipline and industry, who does not have IT skills and experience, successfully manage the IT project as long as he/she possesses excellent set of managerial skills along with other needed skills? Is project management managerial skills and experience transferable from one industry to another or from one technical project to another?

Please bear in mind your choice should be based on the assumption that the project manager possesses additional essential skills such as people skills, leadership skills, and project management skills (i.e. risk management, scheduling, budgeting, planning, resource management, etc).