Allocation and Costing of Human Resources

This forum is for members to share and gain knowledge of Project Management. Got a question about project management? Need help with a problem? Wish to offer tips and advice? Post here.
satisfactionuk
Expert Member
Expert Member

I am studying Prince2, MS Project and Project In A Box and it has occurred to me that in all of them the principle is of allocating task to individual resources (for the argument of this discussion in house people resources).

It is also said in the courses I have done and in the books that I have read on project management that project managers often do not have direct control and authority over their resources and must use a lot of politicking and interpersonal skills to persuade people to do their task on time and to the quality laid out in the relevant product schedules.

Surely this is not the most efficient way to go about managing a project.

Departmental managers have direct control over their staff and abundant authority to insist that task are completed on time and to expected quality standards.

It seems logical to me that using the principles of ABC, every department should be able to establish an hourly rate for the use of its services. Costing the project in this way must be more efficient than assigning individual pay rates to each individual employee.

It also makes sense that allocating a task to a departmental manager has considerably more benefits than having the project manager deal directly with the departmental managers team.