Is experience as a Game producer relevant to PM?

This forum is for members to share and gain knowledge of Project Management. Got a question about project management? Need help with a problem? Wish to offer tips and advice? Post here.
Hoddle

Hi,

Firstly, I've been lurking in the shadows for a while - thanks to everyone for your great words of wisdom!

I'm trying to map out my career & I'm wondering how relevant my experience so far is. Ideally I'd love to work as a BA in the long run, though I suspect I'd need to spend some time as a PM first in order to land that role.

I'm currently a Producer for a large corporate computer games company. Games companies don't have BAs (and very rarely have PMs - if they do they're generally focused on legal paperwork & general admin rather than delivering a product). Having never worked outside games, my understanding is that a Producer role in games is quite similar to a Project Management role in IT or software dev. Is this the case?

If you were looking to hire a new PM for your firm would you consider a Producer in games for the role? Or are the skillsets more different than I imagine?

Thanks for any pointers, I'm trying to map out the next steps for my career so this would be very helpful.
TonyD
Recognised Member
Recognised Member

Hi Hoddle:

First off in response to your inquiry, that its not necessary to be a PM in order to become a BA. They are in fact very different roles so not sure how you got to thinking that way. As a PM, sometimes in small companies you have to do the BA role, but they like I said are completely different. A BA usually works on business cases and requirement documentation. A PM primary job is to manage, communicate, plan and document a project.