New to Project Management and seeking advice

This forum is for members to share and gain knowledge of Project Management. Got a question about project management? Need help with a problem? Wish to offer tips and advice? Post here.
CBenton93

Hi all I'm new here and had some concerns regarding my current position. I have one semester of school left and am very interested in project management, business process improvement, efficiency consulting, and things of that nature.

I am currently an Intern for a small company and have been tasked to improve their processes in project management and any other areas I can offer help. They company is made up of much older people than myself and they are looking for a fresh perspective on things that could help ensure success. The 1st day I followed a project manager around to see how he did things and get a feel for the project process. Since then I have sat at a desk everyday researching project management techniques, inventory control, and really anything that might be useful for the company. They currently use no project management software or planning other than email and word-of-mouth. So after hours of research and working through different programs and applications I found the perfect solution. I presented my findings to the president and one of the main project managers and they agreed the software would be helpful to the organization.

The company is very busy with projects right now and the main thing preventing the application from being implemented is the inability to get everyone together to present the idea so they wouldn't waste money on a program people aren't willing to use (which I understand). However after 2 weeks of working here I have next to nothing contributed and very little to show for how I have provided value to the company.

Am I being irrational thinking that in 2 weeks I could make effective changes? Or do I need to change what I'm doing to make more of an impact?
TonyD
Recognised Member