I don't think I want to be a PM

This forum is for members to share and gain knowledge of Project Management. Got a question about project management? Need help with a problem? Wish to offer tips and advice? Post here.
pmbro

I've been working in a PMO for almost 2 years. I started as an intern in summer 2013 and I got hired full time last year after graduation. I started out with basic HTML/CSS skills and I ended up carving a niche for myself as the technical guy in a department of mostly non-technical people where I'd create tools that improve business processes. Most of my projects were informal and involved only me or a small group of people. I learned how to program working on my projects and so far my most advanced projects are multi-user MS access applications created with heavy VBA and SQL.

I finally got the chance to work on a formal project and I don't really enjoy it and I'm questioning if I'm on the right path. We're implementing an enterprise-level system and right now we're just gathering requirements and evaluating different vendors and products. My role has been involved in the analysis of different vendors/products and build vs buy analysis. I understand the importance of planning and all that but I feel really bored just sitting through meetings and just talking and documenting stuff. I feel much more stimulated creating things and solving technical problems.

My boss makes project management sound like this prestigious career but I feel like it's not really my cup of tea based on what I've seen so far. Is project management really all about scheduling meetings, sending out communication e-mails, status reports and discussing requirements? Should I try to find a different job? Right now my job title is "Associate Project Analyst (PMO)" and I do a mix of technical and administrative stuff but I feel more comfortable focusing on technical stuff. Can my skills translat eto something like a Business Intelligence Analyst and/or BI developer?
kwalford