How to Determine Resource Allocation

This forum is for members to share and gain knowledge of Project Management. Got a question about project management? Need help with a problem? Wish to offer tips and advice? Post here.
rk70373

I am new to project management and gathering the knowledge on the same. I want to know, how to determine resource allocation in a software development project.

For example,
Cost of the Project = 100 Man Days
Schedule of the Project = 4 Weeks

How many (Human) resources needed to complete the above mentioned project? What is the allocation structure for the same?
kwalford
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Duncan (forum admin) is well suited to answer this question; I believe he handles S/w Development projects.

How many hours in a day will each resource work? You have the duration but not the estimated (planned) work effort per day.
dhaughey
Site Admin
Site Admin

If you simply take 100 man days and divide it by the schedule you arrive at 5 resources needed. However, this does not give you an accurate figure. Here are a few tips to keep in mind:
  • Don't book resources for 100% of their time. In my experience resources are usually 80% productive. They spend the other 20% of their time in meetings, answering emails, filling out timesheets, taking coffee breaks etc. I use 80%, but you can adjust the resource productivity rating based on your own experience.
  • Be aware shared resources take longer to complete tasks because of time lost switching between projects. If you are sharing resources you may not get an 80% productivity rate for the period the resource is assigned to your project.
  • This might sound obvious, but make sure you account for weekends and holidays in your planning.
  • Add a small amount of contingency to your plan for problem solving and unexpected events.
Without knowing the skill mix you need and your daily working hours, you can calculate resource requirements as follows:
  • Schedule of the project = 20 days